Sketch Comedy Workshop: POV without LTF
taught by The Defiant Thomas Brothers

Sat, Jul 14, 2018 from 10am - 12:30pm

This event has passed.

The Portland Sketch Comedy Festival presents  a sketch comedy workshop with The Defiant Thomas Brothers:

POV without LTF

Focus on writing scenes that present your point of view without losing the funny. Often a
well-intentioned satirical scene falls flat because it’s preachy or predictable, or both. Worse yet,
it’s a wanna-be-edgy scene, which turns out to be offensive (to comedians). Through analysis
of examples from television, stage, and personal experience, get down to getting what you want
to get out of a scene without being comedically clumsy.

About The Defiant Thomas Brothers:

The Defiant Thomas Brothers are Seth Thomas and Paul Thomas.  Known for their commanding stage presence, commitment to character and timing, and ability to mine laughs all along the sensitivity spectrum, the Defiant Thomas Brothers roamed the Chicago comedy stages in the pre-YouTube era when political correctness was only a child.  Just over two years after they began running their sketch show once a week in a black box theater in Chicago's Uptown, they were invited to HBO’s prestigious U.S. Comedy Arts Festival, where they won the award for best sketch group alongside best alternative act Flight of the Conchords.

 

Space is LIMITED. Register early
Some experience with improv and/or sketch comedy required.

 

Saturday, July 14

10:00 am -12:30 pm

at The Siren Theater


The Siren Theater

315 NW Davis
Portland, OR 97209

Share This Event

Related Shows

Thu, Feb 21 from 8pm - 10pm

Minority Retort presents Marcella Arguello

Fri, Feb 22 at 8pm

The Aces present State Fair

Sat, Feb 23 at 8pm

The Aces present State Fair

Sun, Feb 24 from 11am - 1pm

Girls Gone Mild

Sat, Mar 2 from 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Debbie Wooten: From the Hood to the Woods

Wed, Mar 6 at 8pm

Comedy Royalty Tour

Fri, Mar 15 at 8pm

Minority Retort presents Dhaya Lakshminarayanan

Sat, Mar 16 from 8pm - 9:45pm

The Siren Theater Improv Giants

Sun, Mar 17 from 11am - 1pm

St. Patrick's Day BINGO

Fri, Mar 22 from 8pm - 10pm

Speechless: Improvised PowerPoint Competition

Sat, Mar 23 from 8pm - 10pm

Adam Cayton-Holland

Fri, Apr 12 from 8pm - 9:30pm

Sedan: Luxury Sketch Comedy

Sat, Apr 13 at 8pm

Sedan: Luxury Sketch Comedy

Fri, Apr 19 at 8pm

Sedan: Luxury Sketch Comedy

Sat, Apr 20 at 8pm

Sedan: Luxury Sketch Comedy