Sketch Comedy Workshop: Techniques for Unique Characters
Taught by The Defiant Thomas Brothers

Sat, Jul 14, 2018 from 1pm - 3:30pm

This event has passed.

The Portland Sketch Comedy Festival presents:

Techniques for Unique Characters
A workshop version of the 8 week class Seth teaches at Second City, Chicago. This workshop
teaches improvisers and sketch performers how to create characters by making nonverbal
communication choices. Through games and exercises attendees learn how to create and
practice characters ready for improv and sketch. 
Some experience with improv and/or sketch comedy required.

About The Defiant Thomas Brothers:

The Defiant Thomas Brothers are Seth Thomas and Paul Thomas.  Known for their commanding stage presence, commitment to character and timing, and ability to mine laughs all along the sensitivity spectrum, the Defiant Thomas Brothers roamed the Chicago comedy stages in the pre-YouTube era when political correctness was only a child.  Just over two years after they began running their sketch show once a week in a black box theater in Chicago's Uptown, they were invited to HBO’s prestigious U.S. Comedy Arts Festival, where they won the award for best sketch group alongside best alternative act Flight of the Conchords.

Space is LIMITED. Register early

Some experience with improv and/or sketch comedy required.

 

Saturday, July 14

1:00 PM - 3:30 PM

At The Siren Theater (315 NW Davis)


The Siren Theater

315 NW Davis
Portland, OR 97209

Share This Event

Related Shows

Thu, Feb 21 from 8pm - 10pm

Minority Retort presents Marcella Arguello

Fri, Feb 22 at 8pm

The Aces present State Fair

Sat, Feb 23 at 8pm

The Aces present State Fair

Sun, Feb 24 from 11am - 1pm

Girls Gone Mild

Sat, Mar 2 from 6:30pm - 8:30pm

Debbie Wooten: From the Hood to the Woods

Wed, Mar 6 at 8pm

Comedy Royalty Tour

Fri, Mar 15 at 8pm

Minority Retort presents Dhaya Lakshminarayanan

Sat, Mar 16 from 8pm - 9:45pm

The Siren Theater Improv Giants

Sun, Mar 17 from 11am - 1pm

St. Patrick's Day BINGO

Fri, Mar 22 from 8pm - 10pm

Speechless: Improvised PowerPoint Competition

Sat, Mar 23 from 8pm - 10pm

Adam Cayton-Holland

Fri, Apr 12 from 8pm - 9:30pm

Sedan: Luxury Sketch Comedy

Sat, Apr 13 at 8pm

Sedan: Luxury Sketch Comedy

Fri, Apr 19 at 8pm

Sedan: Luxury Sketch Comedy

Sat, Apr 20 at 8pm

Sedan: Luxury Sketch Comedy