Dear Diary

Thu, Jul 11 at 7:30pm

  • All ages
  • ADA accessible
  • Beer / wine / cider
  • Snack bar
  • Gender-neutral bathrooms
  • LGBTQIA-friendly
This event has passed.

The secrets crushes, the hidden grudges, the triumphs, and the horrors: Dear Diary takes the writing you vowed you’d never show anyone, and turns it into an improvised show!

Featuring real-life teen writing and music that will take you back to a time you’d almost forgotten, Dear Diary’s formidable cast of improvisers take cringingly hilarious material and expands it into a world of angst, drama, and over-the-top emotion.

πŸŽ‰Our July guest diarist is Hallie Zmroczek. Entry includes chance to win a curated bottle of wine from the Bottle Blondes!🍾πŸ₯‚

The secrets crushes, the hidden grudges, the triumphs, and the horrors: with a guest reader, nostalgic tunes, and a cast of top improvisers, #DearDiaryPDX πŸ”‘πŸ”‘ takes the writing you vowed you’d never show anyone, and turns it into an hour-long show.

Hallie is an improviser, writer and voice of comedic wisdom coming out of your listening device! She appears live at numerous Curious Comedy Theater shows, as part of her improv duo, Secret Cervix, and her dulcet tones grace KBOO Community Radio on Fridays at 10:30am (Film at 11) and her own podcast, Bottle Blondes Wine, with co-host Adrien Warner. At July’s Dear Diary, Hallie will delve into her past and share real passages of her teen writing for comedy fodder!

Hallie’s teen writing will be left in the interpretive hands of Kickstand CVLT house improvisers Katie Kester (Show Ridiculous), Roland Mechanik (Cut and Run), Kara Moore, (Tunnel Improv), Brianna Núñez-Webb (Cut and Run), Emily Shankman (Show Ridiculous), Emilie Sites (Papa? Improv Comedy) and host Anne Zander (Juicebox at the Portland Sketch Comedy Festival).

Hosted by Anne Zander of Le Why Not Productions.

Doors at 7pm / $10 suggested (cash or card)


Kickstand Comedy Space

16 NW Broadway
Portland, Or 97209

Share This Event

Related Shows

Tue, Aug 20 at 7:30pm

Velodrome

Tue, Aug 20 at 9pm

Totally Normal

Wed, Aug 21 at 9pm

P.L.O.W. (Portland Legends of Wrestling)

Thu, Aug 22 at 9pm

Secret Aardvark

Sat, Aug 24 at 9pm

Conner O'Malley: Wish I Could Beat My Own Ass

Sun, Aug 25 at 6:30pm

Advanced Minions and Mazes

Tue, Aug 27 at 7:30pm

Velodrome

Tue, Aug 27 at 9pm

Rat King

Wed, Aug 28 at 9pm

GORP

Thu, Aug 29 at 9pm

Secret Aardvark

Fri, Aug 30 from 9pm - 10:30pm

In-Between

Tue, Sep 3 at 7:30pm

Velodrome

Wed, Sep 4 from 9pm - 10pm

Fuster Cluck

Thu, Sep 5 at 9pm

Secret Aardvark

Fri, Sep 6 at 9pm

Wunderkontent